Gerald W. May Outstanding Staff Award

About the Award

In 1990, President Gerald W. May provided funds specifically for staff recognition and at the end of his tenure, a matching amount was made available from the Regent’s Endowment Fund. Currently, this Presidental award is funded through Institutional Support Services. These funds are used by the Staff Council to recognize outstanding staff members who have made significant contributions to the University. The award recognizes individuals, but departments may nominate a staff member with one nomination form, signed on behalf of the group.

In the fall, nominations are solicited from the University of New Mexico main and branch campus faculty, staff, and students. Receipt of nomination forms will be confirmed by email. The Staff Council Rewards & Recognition Committee conducts the screening process and makes recommendations, with the approval of the Staff Council Executive Committee, to the President of the University. The President of the University makes the final award selections.

A minimum of three awards are presented each year. Each recipient receives a monetary award and a plaque. The awards are presented at a public ceremony in December.


2023: Anthony Gravagne, Brian Kimura, Deborah Trevino, Nickolas Royle, and Theresa Sherman

2022: Brandi Stone, Kent Norsworthy, Linda Johansen, Angie Beauchamp, & Gene Henley

2021: Diana Martinez, Stephanie McIver, Julie Morrison, Katie Williams, James Wilterding, & Winton Wood

2020: Oceana Black Elk, Corine Gonzalez, Gary Harrison, Antoinette Rael, & Mitzi Vigil

2019: Robben Baca Brown, Crystle Collier, Jolyne McCrary, & Rudy Montoya

2018: Kevin Brown, John D. Couch, Glenda Johnson, Katherine Love, & Tracy Wenzl

2017: Rob Burford, Caitlin Henke, Valerie Maestas, & Susy Salvo-Wendt

2016: April Davidson, Manuel Martinez, Yolanda Martinez, Luis Rocha, & Patricia Ann Young

2015: Elizabeth Duran-Valdez, Adan Garcia, Keira Philipp-Schnurer, David Rincon, & Douglas Weintraub

2014: Amy Hawkins, Rosemary Melendrez, Daniel Mulligan, & David Phillips

2013: Erika Alas, Maria Sol de Leon, Andrea Hart, Hallee Kells, Diana Rios, Rafael Barraza Rios, Deanna Sanchez-Mulcahy, DL Stiger, Janet Werner, & Daniel Zillich

2012: Cheryl Brozena, Terry Coker, Guadalupe Guevara, Sandy Marie Rodrigue, & Debra Schaffer

2011: Michelle Evans, Dean Jojola, & Paula Sayers

2010: Marvin R Gurule, Marion McGranahan, & Candyce Torres

2009: Maria Guadalupe “Lupe” Atencio, Kim Kloeppel, & Ryan Lindquist

2008: Gloria Manzanares, & Sandra Ortiz

2007: Jennifer George, Mark Manzutto, & Theresa R Nevada

2006: Katherine Gienger, Joshua Kavanagh, & Summer Little

2005: Pamela Agoyo, Linda McCormick, Joel A Straquadine

2004: Sandrea Gonzales, Lorraine Gutierrez, Laurie Mellas-Ramirez

2003: Randy Erwin, Karin Retskin, Robert Trujillo

2002: Ray Mora, Lucille Cordova, Carolyn Gonzales, Susan Quintana, Carole Vollbrecht

2001: Norma Boyd, Ly Flock, Joe McKinney, Lydia Salas, Lori Sloane

2000: Frances Duran, Andrew Gonzalez, Lisa McHale, Genevieve Padilla, Jerry Pilkinton

1999: Jan Dodson, Barnhart, Roxanne Littlefield, Diana Torres

1998: Judith Larson, Terry Gugliotta, Robert Harper

1997: Laura Valdez, Michael Vigil, Lynn Trojahn

1996: Eppie Jaramillo, Sandra Mitchell, Sandra Carter-Mayes, Doreen Miller

1995: Carolyn Casias, James Davis, Joyce Lisbin, Eleanor Sanchez, Lessley Foust

1994: Pamela Burkhardt, Fernando Chavez, Lawrence Roybal, Patricia King, Roberto Espinosa

1993: The Gerald W. May award was not initiated in 1993, and no award was given. 

1992: Charlie Gallegos, Maria Martinez, Magdalena Ortiz, Theresa Rivera-Carabajal, Ida Whitworth 

1991: Letha Allen, Rudy Dominguez, Kate Downer, Joe Gonzales


Physical Address
Hokona - Zuni Room 302
Phone: (505) 277-1532


Mailing Address

UNM Staff Council
Hokona-Zuni Rm 302 MSC02 1560
1 University of New Mexico
AlbuquerqueNM 87131-0001