Staff Hero Award

About the Award

The Staff Hero Award was created in 2011 by Staff Council President Mary Clark and approved by the Executive Committee. The Award was renamed in 2017 in honor of long term Staff Council Administrative Officer and orginal Council member, Kathy Meadows, who retired from UNM in 2017. The award was updated in 2023 to provide a more substantial recognition for the Hero Award. The Executive Committee accepts nominations at any time during the year from any staff member, Councilor or committee member that feels certain individuals deserve special recognition from the Staff Council because of their long term support for the Council. The Executive Committee considers and approves all nominations. The recipient recieves an egraved plaque and a $200 gift card. 


2023: Lloyd Richardson

2020: Sheila Jurnak, Deborah Vigil Kieltyka, Mary Clark, Rob Burford

2019: Maria Wolfe, Dorothy Anderson, Ava Lovell 

2018: Tracey Briggs

2017: Chaouki Abdallah, Alex Gonzalez (posthumously) 

2016: Karen Mann, Josh Clifford, Joanne Kuestner, Jennifer Trujillo, Brian Vineyard, Andrew Cullen

2015: Glenda Johnson, Hans Barsun

2014: Kathy Guimond, Debbie Howard, Eliseo (Cheo) Torres

2013: Celeste Cole, Ly Flock, Linda McCormick, Kathy McKinstry, Lisa Walden

2012: Theresa Everling, Merle Kennedy, Fred Rose, Sharon Scaltrito

2011: Barbara Gabaldon, Dean Jojola, Kim Kloeppel, Walt Miller

Physical Address
Hokona - Zuni Room 302
Phone: (505) 277-1532


Mailing Address

UNM Staff Council
Hokona-Zuni Rm 302 MSC02 1560
1 University of New Mexico
AlbuquerqueNM 87131-0001