Skip to main content

Jim Davis Staff Council Award for Meritorious Service

About the Award

The Jim Davis Staff Council Award for Meritorious Service was established in 1999 and recognizes the significant contributions of an individual to the Staff Council. The award is named in memory of the late Jim Davis who served as a Staff Councilor for more than five years on numerous committees and was the Council’s Speaker for four years. Jim was the first recipient of this award.

The Jim Davis Award is presented each year, during the month of April, to individuals who are current or former Staff Councilors and/or who serve as representatives on standing committees, University-wide committees or ad hoc committees.

To be eligible for the Jim Davis Award, the prospective nominee:

  • Is currently or has been a member in good standing with Staff Council, standing committees, or ad hoc committees
  • Has served the Council as a representative or committee member for at least one year
  • Has not received the award in the last 5 years (see list below)
  • Does not have faculty status

Recipients are presented with a plaque during the April Staff Council Business meeting, which coincides with Volunteer Appreciation Week.


2018: Lori Peterkin

2017: Mary Clark

2016: Mark Reynolds and Lisa Walden

2015: Carla Sakiestewa

2014: Kathy McKinstry

2013: Linda McCormick

2012: Shannon McCoy-Hayes

2011: Robert Christner 

2010: Elisha Allen 

2009: Laurie Mellas 

2008: Shelley Rael

2007: Steve Borbas

2006: William Bloom

2005: Kathy Meadows 

2004: Mary Hanson 

2003: Mimi Swanson 

2002: Susan Magee 

2001: LJ Lovell 

1999: Jim Davis