Skip to main content

Gerald W. May Outstanding Staff Award

About the Award

In 1990, President Gerald W. May provided funds specifically for staff recognition and at the end of his tenure, a matching amount was made available from the Regent’s Endowment Fund. These funds are used by the Staff Council to recognize outstanding staff members who have made significant contributions to the University. The award recognizes individuals but departments may nominate a staff member with one nomination form, signed by the group.

In the fall, nominations are solicited from University of New Mexico faculty, staff and students. The Staff Council Rewards & Recognition Committee conducts the screening process and makes recommendations, with approval of the Staff Council Executive Committee, to the President of the University. The President of the University makes the final award selections.

A minimum of three awards are presented each year. Each recipient receives a monetary award and a plaque. The awards are presented at a public ceremony in December.

Receipt of nomination forms will be confirmed by email.

2018 Nomination Instructions (Please read before completing the nomination form)

2018 Nomination Form


1991: Letha Allen, Rudy Dominguez, Kate Downer, Joe Gonzales
1991: Charlie Gallegos, Maria Martinez, Magdalena Ortiz, Theresa Rivera-Carabajal, Ida Whitworth
1994: Pamela Burkhardt, Fernando Chavez, Lawrence Roybal, Patricia King, Roberto Espinosa
1995: Carolyn Casias, James Davis, Joyce Lisbin, Eleanor Sanchez, Lessley Foust
1996: Eppie Jaramillo, Sandra Mitchell, Sandra Carter-Mayes, Doreen Miller
1997: Laura Valdez, Michael Vigil, Lynn Trojahn
1998: Judith Larson, Terry Gugliotta, Robert Harper
1999: Jan Dodson, Barnhart, Roxanne Littlefield, Diana Torres
2000: Frances Duran, Andrew Gonzalez, Lisa McHale, Genevieve Padilla, Jerry Pilkinton
2001: Norma Boyd, Ly Flock, Joe McKinney, Lydia Salas, Lori Sloane
2002: Ray Mora, Lucille Cordova, Carolyn Gonzales, Susan Quintana, Carole Vollbrecht
2003: Randy Erwin, Karin Retskin, Robert Trujillo
2004: Sandrea Gonzales, Lorraine Gutierrez, Laurie Mellas-Ramirez
2005: Pamela Agoyo, Linda McCormick, Joel A Straquadine
2006: Katherine Gienger, Joshua Kavanagh, Summer Little
2007: Jennifer George, Mark Manzutto, Theresa R Nevada
2008: Gloria Manzanares, Sandra Ortiz
2009: Maria Guadalupe “Lupe” Atencio, Kim Kloeppel, Ryan Lindquist
2010: Marvin R Gurule, Marion McGranahan, Candyce Torres
2011: Michelle Evans, Dean Jojola, Paula Sayers
2012: Cheryl Brozena, Terry Coker, Guadalupe Guevara, Sandy Marie Rodrigue, Debra Schaffer
2013: Erika Alas, Maria Sol de Leon, Andrea Hart, Hallee Kells, Diana Rios, Rafael Barraza Rios, Deanna Sanchez-Mulcahy, DL Stiger, Janet Werner, Daniel Zillich
2014: Amy Hawkins, Rosemary Melendrez, Daniel Mulligan, David Phillips
2015: Elizabeth Duran-Valdez, Adan Garcia, Keira Philipp-Schnurer, David Rincon, Douglas Weintraub
2016: April Davidson, Manuel Martinez, Yolanda Martinez, Luis Rocha, Patricia Ann Young
2017: Rob Burford, Caitlin Henke, Valerie Maestas, Susy Salvo-Wendt
2018: Kevin Brown, John D. Couch, Glenda Johnson, Katherine Love, Tracy Wenzl