Skip to main content

2018 Gerald W. May Awards Ceremony!

December 6, 2018 2:30 PM - 4:30 PM
SUB Ballroom C

Please join us at a ceremony honoring this year's recipients on Thursday, December 6, 2018, from 2:30 – 4:00 p.m. at the Student Union Building (SUB), Ballroom C.

Please RSVP here if you plan to attend (rsvp not required, just helpful)!

The Staff Council would also like to extend a special invitation to all past recipients of the Gerald W. May Outstanding Staff Award to the ceremony. See all past recipients here! Let us celebrate as we add five more names to the perpetual plaque that hangs in Scholes Hall! This year’s recipients are:

Kevin Brown – Program Specialist: College of University Libraries & Learning Sciences (CULLS)
“At all times Kevin conducts himself with professionalism and integrity… His professionalism and calm demeanor and knowledge of library resources is his greatest service to the UNM community.”

John D. Couch – Supervisor, Maintenance & Construction: HSC PPD Facilities Management/Maintenance
“John is Area 2’s greatest resource and valued asset… his ability to maintain his composure, to think quickly, and provide safe and prudent decisions during times of duress has assisted in limiting damages and potentially avoiding the loss of life.”

Glenda Johnson – Transfer Articulation Manager: Office of the Registrar
“Glenda truly believes in putting students first, which means that we need to do everything possible to ensure they can achieve their goals without being held up by university process.”

Katherine Love – Special Events Coordinator: Engineering Student Success Center
“If the University had a heart, its name would be Katherine Love.”

Tracy Wenzl – Unit Administrator 2: Center for Advanced Research Computing (CARC)
“Tracy is, simply put, and outstanding staff member whose excellence has been essential to the Center's recent success and growth.”

At the time UNM President Gerald W. May created this presidential award for staff he said, "Staff is critical to the success of our University, and the recipients of this award are notable because they all lead by their example." Congratulations to the 2018 recipients! To be selected for this prestigious award is truly an honor and achievement.

Quick Links

UNM Staff Council
MSC02 1560
1 University of New Mexico
AlbuquerqueNM 87131

Physical Location:
Hokona Hall-Zuni
Room 302

Phone: (505) 277-1532
Fax: (505) 277-1313