

REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING May 16, 2023 Zoom

Members Present: Jess Anderson, Angela Beauchamp, Jennifer Benitez, Chloe Caswell, Jennifer Chamberlin Payne, Aminda R. Courtwright, Sierra Cushing, Sharina Desai, Ryan Edington, Grace Faustino, Mark Fischer, Frankie Flores, Rene Forsythe, Elisa Gallegos, Gloria Gonzalez, Jennifer Kavka, Tayli Lam, Joseph Lane, Madeline Lionbarger, Lindsey Lopez, Frankie McQuerry, Bonnie Minkus Holmes, Stephen Murillo, Ivan Olay, Amie Ortiz, Mary Phibbs, Tony Robinson, Natalie Rowe, Yadeeh Sawyer, Jessica Serna, Jessica Stanton, Ruth Stoddard, Damion Terrell, Amer Trujillo McClure, Quinton Valencia, Leon Vigil, Robinson Worley, Lisa Yuka

<u>Members Excused</u>: Alex Bos, Marvin Gouch, Brian Jones, Andrea Quijada, Joni Roberts, Kristina Rucker, John Shaski, Arielle Slone, Winton Wood, Dwight Zier

<u>Members Absent:</u> Michael Baca, Angela Marie Graham, Shannon Grey, Victoria Martinez, Michael McNeil, Jason Quinn, Joshua Smith

Also Present: Professional Registered Parliamentarian (PRP), Adam Hathaway

- **I.** Call to Order: President Ortiz called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.
- II. Roll Call: Secretary Hawkins called roll of members and quorum was established.
- **III.** Approve Agenda: With unanimous consent, the agenda was approved.
- **IV.** <u>Land Acknowledgement:</u> The Land Acknowledgement was read by Councilor Beauchamp.
- V. Approve Minutes: With unanimous consent, the minutes from April 18, 2023, were approved.

VI. Election of 2023-2024 Executive Committee

a. President Elect, Rules & Elections: Bryn McCabe Kelly, Presiding

Number of ballots cast: 35;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 18;

Votes for candidate Joe Lane: 13; Votes for candidate Ivan Olay: 22

Upon receiving the teller's report, McCabe Kelly announced Ivan Olay as President Elect.

b. Speaker, Rules & Elections: Bryn McCabe Kelly Presiding

Number of ballots cast: 34;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 18;

Votes for candidate Joe Lane: 32;

Upon receiving the teller's report, McCabe Kelly announced Joe Lane as Speaker. Speaker chairs the remainder of the meeting.

c. Treasurer

Number of ballots cast: 32;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 18;

Votes for candidate Tayli Lam 31;

In addition, write in candidate Frankie Flores received one vote. Upon receiving the teller's report, Lane announced Tayli Lam as Treasurer.

d. Two At-Large Grade Representatives

Number of ballots cast: 35;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 18;

Votes for candidate Bonnie Minkus Holmes: 31; Votes for candidate Amber Trujillo McClure: 31;

Upon receiving the teller's report, Lane announced Bonnie Minkus Holmes and Amber Trujillo McClure Grade at Large Representatives.

e. Two At-Large Precinct Representatives

Number of ballots cast: 36;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 19;

Votes for candidate Angie Beachamp: 28; Votes for candidate Damion Terrell: 18; Votes for candidate Frankie Flores: 20;

Upon receiving the teller's report, Lane announced Angie Beachamp and Frankie Flores Precinct at Large Representatives.

- VII. <u>Installation of Executive Committee and new Councilors:</u> Amie Ortiz, as outgoing president remarked that it is an honor to install the newly elected Executive Committee and Grade Councilors, acknowledged that the Code of Ethics has language that is not inclusive, and encouraged councilors that they are the ones who can change it. Then, Ortiz read the Staff Council Code of Ethics and pronounced the 2023-2024 Executive Committee and newly elected Grade councilors installed.
- **VIII.** Recognition of 2022-2023 Year of Service for Immediate Past President: Members of the Council spoke about their appreciation of the strength, voice, and leadership of immediate Past President Ortiz.
 - **IX.** Recognition of 2022-2023 Year of Service for Speaker: Members of the Council and Administrator Hawkins spoke about the support Speaker Lane has given to everyone, and the willingness to always jump in with both feet even when it's not comfortable.
 - **X.** Appointment of Parliamentarian: With unanimous consent, Chair Lane appointed PNP Adam Hathaway as 2023-2024 Staff Council Parliamentarian.
- XI. <u>Councilor Comments:</u> Councilor Sawyer welcomed all new councilors and congratulated newly elected Executive Committee, and recruited volunteers for Staff Appreciation Week, and encouraged councilors to nominate for PAWS; Councilor McQuerry welcomed everyone and commented on how rewarding the work is.
- **XII.** <u>Councilor Introductions:</u> Councilor Cushing introduced themselves and offered support to any new councilors who may want information on anything Staff Council related.
- XIII. Meeting adjourned at 3:03 p.m. Minutes submitted by Amy Hawkins, Staff Council Administrator.