

SPECIAL MEETING September 14, 2022 Zoom

<u>Members Present</u>: Angela Beauchamp, Chelsey Begay, Alex Bos, Felicia Chavez, Sierra Cushing, Grace Faustino, Mark Fischer, Gilbert Gallegos, Gene Henley, Joseph Lane, Lindsey Lopez, Frankie McQuerry, Stephen Murillo, Ivan Olay, Amie Ortiz, Mary Phibbs, Joni Roberts, Tony Robinson, Carla Sakiestewa, Gina Marie Sandoval, Yadéeh Sawyer, John Shaski, Arielle Slone, Ruth Stoddard, Damien Terrell, Jennifer Trujillo, Amber Trujillo McClure, Winton Wood

<u>Members Excused</u>: Jennifer Benitez, Tyson Eakman, Frankie Flores, Rene Forsythe, Christina Heinemeyer, Brian Jones, Jennifer Kavka, Madeline Lionbarger, Brynn McCabe-Kelly, Rudy Montoya, Javier Rios, Kristina Rucker, Jessica Serna, Jessica Stanton, Hannah Torres, Gina Urias-Sandoval

<u>Members Absent</u>: Albert Arocha, Lorena Blanco-Silva, Sharina Desai, Marvin Gouch, Tom Luna, Victoria Martinez, Jeff Mount, Josh Smith, Prince Thomas, Dwight Zier

Also Present: Sidney Mason-Coon, University Policy Officer

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> Speaker Lane called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.
- II. <u>Roll Call:</u> Hawkins called roll of members and quorum was established.
- **III. Approve Agenda:** With unanimous consent, the agenda was approved.
- **IV.** <u>Land Acknowledgement:</u> The Land Acknowledgement was read by Speaker Lane.
- V. <u>Draft Policy 3215: Performance Improvement:</u> President Ortiz briefly went over the changes regarding the staff disciplinary process, specifically the loss of the right to a peer hearing, and the differences in the staff versus faculty process. Discussion was opened; it included a brief overview of the policy process from Sidney Mason-Coon, and concluded with Ortiz requesting that councilors consider commenting before the public comment period ends and to think about whether they would support a resolution on the matter.
- VI. <u>Meeting adjourned</u> at 12:35 p.m. <u>Minutes</u> submitted by Amy Hawkins, Staff Council Administrator.