

REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING May 17, 2022 Zoom

Members Present: Sandra Bauman, Angela Beauchamp, Chelsey Begay, Alex Bos, Sierra Cushing, Sharina Desai, Tyson Eakman, Nate Faust-Shucker, Grace Faustino, Mark Fischer, Frankie Flores, Rene Forsythe, Marvin Gouch, Christina Heinemeyer, Gene Henley, Brian Jones, Jennifer Kavka, Joseph Lane, Madeline Lionbarger, Lindsey Lopez, Tom Luna, Victoria Martinez, Frankie McQuerry, Jeff Mount, Stephen Murillo, Ivan Olay, Amie Ortiz, Mary Phibbs, Mark Reynolds, Carla Sakiestewa, Scott Sanchez, Gina Marie Sandoval, Yadéeh Sawyer, Joshua Smith, Jessica Stanton, Ruth Stoddard, Jeremy Damien Terrell, Jennifer Trujillo, Amber Trujillo McClure, Winton Wood, Dwight Zier

<u>Members Excused</u>: Lorena Blanco-Silva, Evelyn Fleming-Cavit, Gilbert Gallegos, Rudy Montoya, Javier Rios, Joni Roberts, Tony Robinson, Kristina Rucker, John Shaski, Gina Urias-Sandoval,

Members Absent: Albert Arocha, Jennifer Benitez, Felicia Chavez, Prince Thomas

Also Present: Professional Registered Parliamentarian (PRP), Adam Hathaway

- **I.** <u>Call to Order:</u> President Sanchez called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.
- II. Roll Call: Secretary Hawkins called roll of members and quorum was established.
- **III.** Approve Agenda: With unanimous consent, the agenda was approved.
- IV. <u>Land Acknowledgement:</u> The Land Acknowledgement was read by Councilor Sawyer.
- V. Approve Minutes: With unanimous consent, the minutes from April 19, 2022 were approved.

# VI. Election of 2022-2023 Executive Committee

a. <u>President Elect</u>, Rules & Elections: Sandra Bauman Presiding

Number of ballots cast: 38;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 20;

Votes for candidate Grace Faustino: 36;

In addition, write-in candidates Sierra Cushing and Frankie Flores had one vote each. Upon receiving the teller's report, Bauman announced Grace Faustino as President Elect.

b. Speaker, Rules & Elections: Sandra Bauman Presiding

Number of ballots cast: 37;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 19;

Votes for candidate Joe Lane: 35;

In addition, write in candidates Sandra Bauman and Tracy Wenzl (not currently a councilor) received one vote each. Upon receiving the teller's report, Bauman announced Joe Lane as Speaker. Speaker chairs the remainder of the meeting.

#### c. Treasurer

Number of ballots cast: 39;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 20;

Votes for candidate Carla Sakiestewa: 38;

In addition, write in candidate Angie Beauchamp received one vote. Upon receiving the teller's report, Lane announced Carla Sakiestewa as Treasurer.

## d. Two At-Large Grade Representatives

Number of ballots cast: 40;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 21;

Votes for candidate Sierra Cushing: 38; Votes for candidate Nate Faust Shuker: 35;

Upon receiving the teller's report, Lane announced Sierra Cushing and Nate Faust-Shuker Grade at Large Representatives.

### e. Two At-Large Precinct Representatives

Number of ballots cast: 40;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 21;

Votes for candidate Angie Beachamp: 39; Votes for candidate Mark Fischer: 37;

Upon receiving the teller's report, Lane announced Angie Beachamp and Mark Fischer Precinct at Large Representatives.

- VII. <u>Installation of Executive Committee and new Councilors:</u> Scott Sanchez, as outgoing president, read the Staff Council Code of Ethics and pronounced the 2022-2023 Executive Committee and Grade councilors installed.
- **VIII.** Appointment of Parliamentarian: With unanimous consent, Chair Lane appointed PNP Adam Hathaway as 2022-2023 Staff Council Parliamentarian.

### IX. Information Items

- a. Councilor Comments: Councilor Flores spoke about an upcoming event and wishes to have a discussion in the future about using inclusive language; Councilor Trujillo reminded Council about Staff Appreciation Week and thanked outgoing councilor Bauman for her professionalism & work on the Rules & Elections committee; President Ortiz encouraged councilors about the upcoming year and the work to be done on behalf of staff.
- X. <u>Councilor Introductions:</u> Frankie McQuerry, Madeline Lionbarger, Sharina Desai, Alex Bos, Amber Trujillo-McClure, Martin Gouch, Brian Jones, Frankie Flores, Ruth Stoddard, and Damien Terrell introduced themselves.
- XI. Meeting adjourned at 2:47 p.m. Minutes submitted by Amy Hawkins, Staff Council Administrator.