

REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING May 18, 2021 Zoom

Members Present: Cody Alvstad, Sandra Bauman, Angela Beauchamp, Lisa Beauchene-Lawson, Jennifer Benitez, Lorena Blanco-Silva, Armando Bustamante, Sierra Donovan Cushing, Tyson Eakman, Grace Faustino, Nathanael Faust-Shucker, Mark Fischer, Evelyn Fleming-Cavit, Keith Hitz, Jennifer Kavka, Joseph Lane, Karen Lopez, Tom Luna, Daniel Maes, Bryn McCabe-Kelly, Rudy Montoya, Stephen Murillo, Ivan Olay, Amie Ortiz, Ignacio Ortiz, Michelle Peeples, Mary Phibbs, Mark Reynolds, Javier Rios, Joni Roberts, Tony Robinson, John Rodriguez, Kristina Rucker, Carla Sakiestewa, Scott Sanchez, Gina Marie Sandoval, Yadéeh Sawyer, Nancy Shane, John Shaski, Jessica Stanton, Prince Thomas, Jennifer Trujillo, Gina Urias-Sandoval, Brian Vineyard, Tracy Wenzl, Winton Wood

Also Present: Professional Registered Parliamentarian (PRP), Adam Hathaway

Members Excused: Gilbert Gallegos, Christina Heinemeyer, Cynthia Perez-Chavez, Jason Quinn, Jessica Serna

<u>Members Absent:</u> Albert Arocha, Angela Catena, Felicia Chavez, Harriet Engle, Sean Fisher, Kelsey Higgins, Maren Krake Dalton, Teya Nguyen

- **I.** Call to Order: The Speaker called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m.
- II. Roll Call: The Administrative Officer called roll of members and quorum was established.
- III. Approve Agenda: With unanimous consent, the agenda was approved with amendment.
- IV. <u>Land Acknowledgement:</u> The Land Acknowledgement was read by Councilor Reynolds.
- V. Approve Minutes: With unanimous consent, the minutes from April 20, 2021 were approved.

VI. Election of 2021-2022 Executive Committee

a. President Elect, Rules & Elections: Sandra Bauman Presiding

Number of ballots cast: 45;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 23;

Votes for candidate Amie Ortiz: 44:

In addition, there was one write-in candidate with one vote. Upon receiving the teller's report, Bauman announced Amie Ortiz as President Elect.

b. Speaker, Rules & Elections: Sandra Bauman Presiding

Number of ballots cast: 42;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 22;

Votes for candidate Tracy Wenzl: 37;

In addition, there were two write-in candidates, with four votes and one vote, respectively. Upon receiving the teller's report, Bauman announced Tracy Wenzl as Speaker. Speaker chairs the remainder of the meeting.

c. Treasurer

Number of ballots cast: 44;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 23;

Votes for candidate Jennifer Kavka: 44;

Upon receiving the teller's report, Wenzl announced Jennifer Kavka as Treasurer.

d. Two At-Large Grade Representatives

Number of ballots cast: 50;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 26;

Votes for candidate Evelyn Cavit: 11; Votes for candidate Sierra Cushing: 31; Votes for candidate Carla Sakiestewa: 31; Votes for candidate Mary Phibbs: 15;

Upon receiving the teller's report, Wenzl announced Sierra Cushing and Carla Sakiestewa Grade at Large Representatives.

e. <u>Two At-Large Precinct Representatives</u>

Number of ballots cast: 41;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 21;

Votes for candidate Joe Lane: 40;

Votes for candidate Grace Faustino: 35;

In addition, there were two write-in candidates, with two votes and one vote, respectively. Upon receiving the teller's report, Wenzl announced Joe Lane and Grace Faustino Precinct at Large Representatives.

- VII. <u>Installation of Executive Committee and new Councilors:</u> Nancy Shane, as outgoing president, read the Staff Council Code of Ethics and pronounced the 2021-2022 Executive Committee and Grade councilors installed.
- VIII. <u>Year in Review with Immediate Past President:</u> Shane thanked the members of the 2020-21 Staff Council for a job well done under challenging circumstances, and highlighted many recent accomplishments of the Council.
 - **IX.** Appointment of Parliamentarian Adam Hathaway: With unanimous consent, Speaker Wenzl appointed Adam Hathaway, PRP, as 2021-2022 Staff Council Parliamentarian.
 - **X.** Recognition of Year of Service: President Scott Sanchez thanked and recognized the immense contributions of 2020-2021 President, Nancy Shane, and Speaker, Tracy Wenzl.

XI. Unfinished Business:

a. DEI Committee Staff Council Demographic Survey: Councilor Faustino moved for permission to withdraw the postponed motion. This was seconded, and with unanimous consent, the postponed motion was withdrawn.

XII. New Business:

a. Land Acknowledgement: President Elect, A. Ortiz moved to amend the land acknowledgement by striking the current language and inserting the following:

"Founded in 1889, the University of New Mexico sits on the traditional homelands of the Pueblo of Sandia. The original peoples of New Mexico Pueblo, Navajo, and Apache since time immemorial, have deep connections to the land and have made significant contributions to the broader community statewide. We honor the land itself and those who remain stewards of this land throughout the generations and also acknowledge our committed relationship to Indigenous peoples. We gratefully recognize our history."

Discussion and debate were held, and with unanimous consent, the motion passed.

b. On behalf of the SC DEI Committee, Councilor Beauchamp moved that the Staff Council request aggregate, anonymous demographic data from UNM Human Resources on Staff Councilors serving any time from 2016 through 2021. The six requested data points include gender, race, ethnicity, age, veteran status, and job grade. Discussion and debate were held, and with a majority vote, the motion passed.

XIII. Information Items

- a. Councilor Comments: Councilor Avlstad inquired about Career Ladders. Information and links to the UNM HR Career Ladder site were shared.
- XIV. <u>Meeting adjourned at 3:07 p.m. Minutes</u> submitted by Amy Hawkins, Staff Council Administrator.