

REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING December 21, 2021 Zoom

Members Present: Sandra Bauman, Angela Beauchamp, Lorena Blanco-Silva, Armando Bustamante, Felicia Chavez, Sierra Donovan Cushing, Nathanael Faust-Shucker, Mark Fischer, Gilbert Gallegos, Christina Heinemeyer, Gene Henley, Kelsey Higgins, Joseph Lane, Tom Luna, Bryn McCabe-Kelly, Amie Ortiz, Cynthia Perez-Chavez, Mary Phibbs, Mark Reynolds, Joni Roberts, Tony Robinson, Carla Sakiestewa, Scott Sanchez, Yadéeh Sawyer, Nancy Shane, John Shaski, Jennifer Trujillo, Gina Urias-Sandoval, Brian Vineyard

<u>Members Excused</u>: Jeannie Baca, Chelsey Begay, Angela Catena, Tyson Eakman, Grace Faustino, Evelyn Fleming-Cavit, Keith Hitz, Jennifer Kavka, Karen Lopez, Rudy Montoya, Stephen Murillo, Javier Rios, Kristina Rucker, Gina Marie Sandoval, Jessica Serna, Winton Wood

<u>Members Absent</u>: Albert Arocha, Lisa Beauchene-Lawson, Jennifer Benitez, Ivan Olay, Jason Quinn, Jessica Stanton, Prince Thomas

Also Present: Professional Registered Parliamentarian (PRP), Adam Hathaway

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> Speaker Lane called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.
- II. <u>Roll Call:</u> President Elect Ortiz called roll of members and quorum was established.
- III. <u>Approve Agenda:</u> With unanimous consent, the agenda was approved.
- **IV.** <u>Land Acknowledgement:</u> The Land Acknowledgement was read by Councilor Bauman.
- V. <u>Approve Minutes:</u> With unanimous consent, the minutes from November 16, 2021 were approved.

VI. Information Items

a. Councilor Comments: President Sanchez gave notice on a potential bylaw change (below) and asked the council to communicate any changes to his Standing Rule proposal sent out via email. Both will be considered at the January meeting.

Original Text

Section 1. General

B. In consultation with the committee, and with Staff Council approval, the Speaker appoints the chairs and members of Staff Council committees. Chairs and members will serve a one-year term but may serve successive terms.

Proposed Text

Section 1. General

B. In consultation with the committee, and with Staff Council approval, the Speaker appoints will submit for approval, a list of the proposed chairs and members of Staff Council committees. The Council may add or strike names on the Proposed Committee Rosters with majority approval of a motion to do so. Once the rosters are adopted, chairs and members will serve a one-year term but may serve successive terms.

b. Ten-minute tidbit with Adam Hathaway: Hathaway gave a presentation on giving notice on bylaw amendments.

VII. New Business

- a. Speaker Lane made several appointments which were approved via unanimous consent:
 - 1. Yadéeh Sawyer to the DEI Committee
 - 2. Grace Faustino as Chair of Rewards & Recognition
 - 3. Jason Shoup to the Staff Success Committee
 - 4. Scott Sanchez to Grade 13
- VIII. Guest Speaker(s): Dr. Sarita Cargas along with two students, Amiah Dutra and Biraj Silwal, presented their food recovery app idea, LoboEats, and answered questions.
- IX. Guest Speaker(s): Francie Cordova & Sidney Mason Coon, presented on Policy 3215: Performance Improvement for Staff and answered questions.
- X. Star Awards Presentation: President Sanchez presented the Star Awards.
- XI. Meeting adjourned at 2:15 p.m. <u>Minutes</u> submitted by Amy Hawkins, Staff Council Administrator.