

University of New Mexico STAFF COUNCIL MEETING June 16, 2020 Zoom

Members Present: Sandra Bauman, Angela Beauchamp, Lisa Beauchene, Bradford Beck, Chelsey Begay, Jennifer Benitez, Garon Bodor, Armando Bustamante, Angela Catena, Autumn Collins, Amanda DiMercurio, Sierra Donovan Cushing, Dayra Fallad-Mendoza, Nathanael Faust-Shucker, Grace Faustino, Mark Fisher, Gilbert Gallegos, Ryan Gregg, Christina Heinemeyer, Kelsey Higgins, Keith Kitz, Jennifer Kavka, Maren Krake Dalton, Mary Jacintha, Joseph Lane, Karen Lopez, Texanna Martin, Cindy Mason, Bryn McCabe-Kelly, Stephen Murillo, Teya Nguyen, Amie Ortiz, Ignacio Ortiz, Cynthia Perez-Chavez, Mark Reynolds, Joni Roberts, Tony Robinson, John Rodriguez, Jose Rodriguez, Kristina Rucker, Carla Sakiestewa, Scott Sanchez, Jessica Serna, Nancy Shane, John Shaski, Jessica Stanton, Azura Tallant, David Thomas, Jason Quinn, Gina Urias-Sandoval, Brian Vineyard, Tracy Wenzl, Marcus White

Members Excused:

Members Absent: Christopher Dow, Anna Goodwin, Zachary Page, Athena Salazar, Debra Sparks

- I. Call to Order: at 1:07 p.m.
- II. Roll Call
- III. Agenda approved with addition.
- IV. Minutes from May 19, 2020 approved.

V. <u>Election of 2020-2021 Executive Committee</u>

a. President Elect, Rules & Elections: Amie Oritiz Presiding

Teller's report:

Number of ballots cast: 49;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 25;

Votes for candidate Scott Sanchez: 29;

Votes for candidate Armando Bustamante: 19;

In addition, there was one write-in candidate with one vote. Upon receiving the teller's report, Ortiz announced Scott Sanchez as President Elect.

b. Speaker, Rules & Elections: Amie Oritiz Presiding

Teller's report:

Number of ballots cast: 51;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 26;

Votes for candidate Tracy Wenzl: 29; Votes for candidate Texanna Martin: 21;

In addition, there was one write-in candidate with one vote. Upon receiving the teller's report, Ortiz announced Tracy Wenzl as Speaker. Speaker chairs the remainder of the meeting.

c. <u>Treasurer</u>

Teller's report:

Number of ballots cast: 47;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 24;

Votes for candidate Angie Beauchamp: 27; Votes for candidate Chelsey Begay: 20;

Upon receiving the teller's report, Wenzl announced Angie Beauchamp as Treasurer.

d. Grade at Large (2 seats): Round 1

Teller's report:

Number of ballots cast: 49;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 25;

Votes for candidate Sierra Cushing: 23;

Votes for candidate Armando Bustamante: 32;

Votes for candidate Mark Reynolds: 17 Votes for candidate Texanna Martin: 22

Upon receiving the teller's report, Wenzl announced Armando Bustamante as Grade at Large representative.

Secretary initiated a second ballot.

Grade at Large (2 seats): Round 2

Teller's report:

Number of ballots cast: 49;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 25;

Votes for candidate Sierra Cushing: 21; Votes for candidate Mark Reynolds: 8 Votes for candidate Texanna Martin: 20

Upon receiving the teller's report, Wenzl requested the secretary initiate a third ballot.

Grade at Large (2 seats): Round 3

Teller's report:

Number of ballots cast: 48;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 25;

Votes for candidate Sierra Cushing: 21; Votes for candidate Mark Reynolds: 3 Votes for candidate Texanna Martin: 24

Upon receiving the teller's report, Wenzl requested the secretary initiate a forth ballot.

Grade at Large (2 seats): Round 4

Teller's report:

Number of ballots cast: 46;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 24;

Votes for candidate Sierra Cushing: 21; Votes for candidate Texanna Martin: 25

Upon receiving the teller's report, Wenzl announced Texanna Martin as Grade at Large representative.

e. Precinct at Large (2 seats)

Teller's report:

Number of ballots cast: 47;

Number of votes required for the majority to elect: 24;

Votes for candidate Grace Faustino: 39; Votes for candidate Joe Lane: 18; Votes for candidate Brian Vineyard: 32

In addition, there was one write-in candidate with one vote. Upon receiving the teller's report, Wenzl announced Grace Faustino and Brian Vineyard as Precinct at Large representatives.

VI. Installation of Executive Committee and new Councilors, Immediate Past President, Ryan Gregg

VII. New Business

- a. 2020 Strategic Plan, Nancy Shane & Chelsey Begay. Begay moves to adopt Staff Council 2020 Strategic Plan. Motion passes. This concludes the work of the Strategic Planning Committee.
- b. Staff Council Technology Committee, Azura Tallant. Tallant moves to create a Standing Committee focused on IT. Motion passes.

VIII. Presentation of Staff Council Past President's Award, President Nancy Shane

- IX. <u>Year in Review</u>, Immediate Past President, Ryan Gregg
- X. Committee Reports
 - i. Communications & Marketing; Mark Reynolds, Chair. No report.
 - ii. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Grace Faustino, Cindy Mason, Co-Chairs. Mason: See attached for committee report.
 - iii. Government Relations; Scott Sanchez, Texanna Martin, Co-Chairs. No report
 - iv. HSCS Committee; Christine Heinemeyer and Sierra Donovan-Cushing, Co-Chairs. HSC Staff Council met on June 5th and will meet again on July 2nd, both via Zoom. At the last meeting we brainstormed what we could do to make staff feel supported in this time of working from home and came up with a few ideas. The first we are pursuing is a personalized eCard to all of the HSC Staff, there are a lot of them so we will likely have to do some sort of a mail-merge process, still figuring out the details. The other idea we have tabled until the July meeting and that is to host a virtual happy hour for HSC Staff via Zoom. If we don't have a budget to pay the musician, we can provide a link to a Virtual Tip Jar and people can donate when they tune in. We need to be sure we have the right Zoom account level to make this work. We are currently focusing on the eCards but if any of you want to replicate it, feel free.
 - v. Parking; Autumn Collins, Lisa Beauchene-Lawson, Co-Chairs. No report.
 - vi. Rewards and Recognition; Joe Lane, Chair. See attached for committee report.
 - vii. Rules and Elections; Amie Ortiz, Chair. No report.
 - viii. Student Success; Cindy Mason and Brian Vineyard, Co-Chairs. No report.
 - ix. 30th Anniversary; Amanda Dimercurio and Jessica Serna, Co-Chairs. They have made progress on the mosaic photo, but that it was not final yet. We plan to have it ready by July SC meeting.

XI. Meeting adjourned at 3:37 PM.

Minutes submitted by Amy Hawkins, Staff Council Administrator.

Meeting minutes can be found online at: http://staffcouncil.unm.edu/business-meetings/index.html