

University of New Mexico STAFF COUNCIL MEETING April 21, 2020 Zoom

Members Present: Angela Beauchamp, Lisa Beauchene, Bradford Beck, Chelsey Begay, Sandra Bauman, Lorena Blanco-Silva, Garon Bodor, Armando Bustamante, Aracely Chapa, Mary Clark, Autumn Collins, Amanda DiMercurio, Sierra Donovan Cushing, Dayra Fallad-Mendoza, Nathanael Faust-Shucker, Grace Faustino, Mark Fisher, Sean Fisher, Ryan Gregg, Mary Jacintha, Joseph Lane, Texanna Martin, Cindy Mason, Ignacio Ortiz, Cynthia Perez-Chavez, Mark Reynolds, Joni Roberts, Jose Rodriguez, Carla Sakiestewa, Athena Salazar, Scott Sanchez, Jessica Serna, Nancy Shane, Jessica Stanton, Azura Tallant, Brian Vineyard, Tracy Wenzl

<u>Members Excused</u>: Debbie Aguilar, Jesus Chavez, Jessica Esquibel, Jennifer Kavka, Maren Krake Dalton, Kristina Rucker, David Thomas

<u>Members Absent:</u> Christopher Dow, Gilbert Gallegos, Anna Goodwin, Zachary Page, Karen Sanchez, Debra Sparks, Gina Urias-Sandoval

- I. Call to Order: at 1:07 p.m.
- II. Roll Call
- III. Agenda approved.
- IV. Minutes from February 18, 2020 approved.

V. New Business.

a. Rules & Elections Re: Precinct Elections. Tracy Wenzl G13, Chair of Rules & Elections. Wenzl moves to suspend the rules to allow precinct elections to be held the week of May 4-8, 2020; to extend the terms of current precinct councilors until election results can be certified in a Council meeting; and to extend the terms of current Executive Committee members until the meeting following the certification of precinct election results. Motion passes.

VI. Reports

- a. President's Report, President Ryan Gregg
 - i. Appointment of Gene Henley to the UNM Faculty & Staff Benefits Committee (FSBC). Approved.
- b. Executive Committee Report, President-elect Nancy Shane
 - i. Exec meeting discussions: SC vacancies recommendations & elections protocol with Rules & Elections; March and April Business meetings; Budget; Parking Survey; Staff Appreciation Week; Committee meetings; Constituent concerns; Employee technical concerns with staff working from home; March 27th UNM Town Hall; Administration communication regarding returning back to campus; SC Strategic Plan; Meet & Greets with new precinct councilors.
- c. Speaker's Report, Speaker Mary Clark
 - i. Appointment of John Rodriguez as Grade 15 Representative. Approved.
 - ii. Appointment of Amanda Dimercurio & Jessica Serna as Co-Chairs, SC 30th Anniversary Committee. Approved.
 - iii. Appointment of Staff Council Strategic Planning Committee members. Approved.

- d. Treasurer's Report, Treasurer Angela Beauchamp
 - i. Update regarding the finalization of the Karin Retskin Scholorship account
 - ii. SC I&G budget was reduced by 5%.

e. Committee Reports

- i. Communications & Marketing; Tracy Wenzl, Mark Reynolds, Co-Chairs. Tracy: Meeting via Zoom. SC website audit update: they will have recommendations soon.
- ii. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Grace Faustino, Cindy Mason, Co-Chairs. Grace: Meeting via Zoom; technology survey for staff working remotely; discussions with VP Zerai regarding Spanish translations from UNM Administration; update goals for next month.
- iii. Government Relations; Scott Sanchez, Texanna Martin, Co-Chairs. Scott: Next meeting will be scheduled soon for January debrief and upcoming Special Session.
- iv. HSCS Committee; Christine Heinemeyer and Sierra Donovan-Cushing, Co-Chairs. Sierra: Meeting via Zoom; update on cancelled events; brainstorming efforts to support HSC staff.
- v. Parking; Autumn Collins, Lisa Beauchene-Lawson, Co-Chairs. No update.
- vi. Rewards and Recognition; Rob Burford and Joe Lane, Co-Chairs. Joe: Meeting via Zoom; Staff Appreciation week on hold; Announcement of Ryan Gregg as the Jim Davis Awardee; Announcement of most recent PAWS winner.
- vii. Rules and Elections; Tracy Wenzl, Chair. Tracy: Meeting via Zoom; Council elections and Executive Committee elections update; Opinio Spanish translation may be available for future SC elections.
- viii. Student Success; Cindy Mason and Brian Vineyard, Co-Chairs. Cindy: Everything currently on hold; Staff as Students update regarding process for still getting staff priority registration.
- ix. 30th Anniversary; Amanda Dimercurio and Jessica Serna, Co-Chairs. Meeting via Zoom; everything on hold and brainstorming ideas for online activities/celebrations.
- x. Strategic Planning; Nancy Shane: Meeting via Zoom weekly and moving ahead.

VII. Meeting adjourned at 2:20PM.

Minutes submitted by Amy Hawkins, Staff Council Administrator.

Meeting minutes can be found online at: http://staffcouncil.unm.edu/business-meetings/index.html



2019-2020 Committee Member Roster

Communications & Marketing Committee

SC-COMMCMTE-L@list.unm.edu

Azura Tallant Cindi Meche

Mark Reynolds (Co-Chair)

Theresa Sherman

Tracy Wenzl (Co-Chair)

Brian Vineyard

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

SC DEI COMMITTEE-L@LIST.UNM.EDU

Grace Faustino (Co-Chair)

Angela Beauchamp Cindy Mason (Co-Chair)

Jessica Stanton Carla Sakiestewa Mark Fischer

Nate Faust-Shucker Jessica Esquibel Lorena Blanco-Silva Dayra Fallad-Mendoza

Azura Tallant
Texanna Martin

Armando Bustamante

Jessica Serna Kelly Davis

Elizabeth Amador Stephen Haskie DaDa Willis-Gregory

Sean Fisher
Joe Lane
Jennie Wong

Ethics Committee

Lisa Beauchene Ignacio Ortiz Kristina Rucker Jessica Stanton Brian Vineyard

Executive Committee

SCEXEC-L@list.unm.edu

Ryan Gregg (Chair)

Nancy Shane

Angela Beauchamp

Aracely Chapa

Brian Vineyard

Autumn Collins

Armando Bustamante Amy Hawkins (ex-officio)

Rob Buford (ex-officio)

Government Relations Committee

Scott Sanchez (Co-Chair)

Jennifer Kavka

Armando Bustamante

Texanna Martin (Co-Chair)

Autumn Collins

Joe Lane

Tracy Wenzl

Jesus Chavez

Garon Bodar

Arcie Chapa

Grace Faustino

Dayra Fallad-Mendoza

Health Sciences Center Staff

SC HSCS COMMITTEE-L@list.unm.edu

Ariel Arevalo

Cindy Garcia

Cassandra Burnett

Christine Heinemeyer (Co-Chair)

Michal Mudd

Nancy Shane

Sierra Donovan-Cushing (Co-Chair)

Vanessa Roybal

Daniel Maes



2019-2020 Committee Member Roster

Parking as a Staff Benefit (Ad-hoc)

Autumn Collins (Co-Chair)

Lisa Beauchene-Lawson (Co-Chair)

Christina Garcia-Tenorio

Brad Beck

Sierra Cushing

Athena Salazar

David Thomas

Jesus Chavez

Erica Grong

Rewards & Recognition Committee

RANDR-L@list.unm.edu

Celeste Cole

Dave Thomas

Tish Young

Natalie Brigance

Jennifer Kavka

Keith Hitz

Grace Faustino

Rob Burford (Co-Chair)

Joe Lane (Co-Chair)

Della Willis

Lorena Blanco-Silva

Nathanael Faust-Shucker

Mark Reynolds

Rules & Elections Committee

SCRE-L@list.unm.edu

Amie Ortiz

Mark Reynolds

Tracy Wenzl (Chair)

Nancy Shane

Garon Bodar

Staff Council 30th Anniversary (Ad-hoc)

Nancy Shane

Tracy Wenzl

Joe Lane

Mark Reynolds

Amanda Dimercurio (Co-Chair)

Jessica Serna (Co-Chair)

Staff Council Strategic Planning (Ad-hoc)

Nancy Shane

Mark Reynolds

Joe Lane

Cindy Mason

Amy Hawkins

Grace Faustino

Chelsey Begay

Student Success Committee

SC STUDENT SUCCESS COMMITTEE-L@list.unm.edu

Joanne Kuestner

Nathan Faust-Shucker

Cindy Mason (Co-Chair)

Krystal McCutchen

Gina Urias-Sandoval

Christine Heinemeyer

David Hansen

Brian Vineyard (Co-Chair)

Marisa Castaneda

Lorena Blanco-Silva