

University of New Mexico STAFF COUNCIL MEETING May 15, 2018 SUB, Ballroom A

Members Present: Angela Beauchamp, Lorena Blanco-Silva, Rob Burford, Andrew Castellano, Aracely Chapa, Autumn Collins, Andrea Crawford, Jesus Chavez, Mary Clark, Dave Collymore, Cheryl Dilger, Jessica Esquibel, Mark Fischer, Lorena Giese, Cameron Goble, Cynthia Gonzales, Vanessa Gouveia, Ryan Gregg, Erica Grong, Christine Heinemeyer, CJ King, Joe Lane, Texanna Martin, Elizabeth McKown, Ray Mitchell, Patrick Newman, Ignacio Ortiz, David Pallozzi, Paula Popp, Kristine Radcliff, Mark Reynolds, Joni Roberts, Moyna Robeson, Kristina Rucker, Karen Sanchez, Scott Sanchez, Jessica Serna, Nancy Shane, Jessica Stanton, David Thomas, Gina Urias-Sandoval, Brian Vineyard, Lisa Walden Tracy Wenzl, Jeremy Work, Tish Young

Members Excused: Jeff Barkley, Anne Marie Boyd, Armando Bustamante, Brooke Cholka, Celestina Torres

Members Absent: Debbie Aguilar, Bradford Beck, Lauren Lewis, Cynthia Perez-Chavez

<u>Parliamentarian:</u> Adam Hathaway, Professional Registered Parliamentarian.

Call to Order: at 1:05 p.m.

Agenda, approved with changes.

Minutes of April 17, 2018 approved.

### **Election of 2018-2019 Executive Committee**

President Elect Nominations: Ryan Gregg

On behalf of the Rules & Elections Committee, Nancy Shane called for additional nominations for the office of President Elect. Hearing none and declaring the position uncontested, Shane announced that the President Elect is Ryan Gregg.

Speaker Nominations: Tracy Wenzl, Mary Clark

Shane called for additional nominations for the office of Speaker. Hearing none Councilors took their vote. Upon receiving the ballot report, Shane announced that Mary Clark is Speaker.

Treasurer Nominations: Brooke Cholka, Dave Collymore

Mary Clark called for additional nominations for the office of Treasurer. Lore Giese was nominated and the Council took their vote. Upon receiving the ballot report, Clark announced that Lore Giese is Treasurer.

Grade At-Large Rep Nominations: Erica Grong, Mark Reynolds, Autumn Collins

Clark called for additional nominations for the office of Grade At-Large Rep. Armando Bustamante was nominated and the Council took their vote. Councilors were allowed to vote for up to two individuals. Upon receiving the ballot report, Clark announced Mark Reynolds and Autumn Collins are the two Grade At Large Representatives.

**Precinct At-Large Rep** Nominations: Joseph Lane, Brooke Cholka, David Thomas, Aracely Chapa, Scott Sanchez, Brian Vineyard Clark called for additional nominations for the office of Precinct At-Large Rep. Hearing none the Council took their vote. Councilors were allowed to vote for up to two individuals. Upon receiving the ballot report, Clark announced Aracely Chapa and Scott Sanchez are the two Precinct At Large Representatives.

# **Constituent Comments**

None.

## **Guest Speaker**

**UNM President Stokes** 

- Town Hall for staff in July
- Investing in what matters most to UNM community
- Campus Safety more than a UNM issue; it's an ABQ issue
- Student Veterans
- Enrollment target special populations
- Staff in a critical role

Q & A Session

#### **New Business**

Speaker Clark nominated Jennifer Kavka as Grade 14 representative. None apposed.

# **Installation Ceremony**

Danelle Callan, Past President Ex-Officio, read the Staff Council Code of Ethics and asked that all the newly elected Precinct Representatives and members of the Executive Committee abide by the code. Callan pronounced the members installed.

### **Presentation of Awards**

President Burford presented Danelle Callan with the Past President Award and Mary Clark with the Speaker's Award.

#### The Year in Review

2017-2018 Staff Council President Callan gave some remarks about the past year including many of the accomplishments and events of Staff Council.

## **Councilor Comments**

- Joe Lane P3: Book Exchange briefing and thanks
- Ryan Gregg P12 & President Elect: Reminder of Parking availability for the Staff Appreciation Luncheon
- Carla Sakiestewa: Information regarding Staff as Artists at the Staff Appreciation Luncheon
- Cameron Goble G13: Update on Stem Collaborative event: Donut Days
- Lisa Walden P30: Information and Heads Up about possible Parliamentarian classes for Staff Council on behalf of the SC Communications & Marketing Committee
- Jessica Esquibel P2: Question regarding lecture classes possibly being held on M-W-F only as part of the University Redesign

# Meeting adjourned at 3:35 PM.

Minutes submitted by Amy Hawkins, Administrative Officer of the Staff Council.

Meeting minutes can be found online at: http://staffcouncil.unm.edu/business-meetings/index.html