

University of New Mexico STAFF COUNCIL MEETING May 16, 2017 SUB, Lobo A&B

<u>Members Present</u>: Gwen Azar, Jeff Barkley, Brad Beck, Rob Burford, Armando Bustamante, John Byram, Danelle Callan, Russi Carr, Lukas Cash, Andrew Castellano, Brooke Cholka, Mary Clark, Josh Clifford, Autumn Collins, Andrea Crawford, Marjorie Crow, Jessica Esquibel, Cindy Garcia, Lorena Giese, Teresa Gomez, Cynthia Gonzales, Ryan Gregg, Erica Grong, Megan Hauser, Christine Heinemeyer, CJ King, Joe Lane, Lauren Lewis, Annette Mares-Duran, Rosemary Melendrez, Ray Mitchell, Mike Mulcahy, David Pallozzi, Jodi Perry, Mark Reynolds, Joni Roberts, Kristina Rucker, Justine Saavedra, Carla Sakiestewa, Jessica Serna, Nancy Shane, Albert Tafoya, Gina Urias-Sandoval, Brian Vineyard, Daniel Weems, Kevin Werling and Tish Young.

Members Excused: Colleen Cox, Hannah McGrew, Melissa Meier, Patrick Newman and Lori Peterkin.

Members Absent: Laura Hawkey

Parliamentarian: Adam Hathaway, Professional Registered Parliamentarian.

Call to Order: at 1:13 p.m. by Danelle Callan, Presiding Officer.

Agenda, approved.

Minutes of April 18, 2017 approved.

Constituent Comments

Paul Weir, Men's Head Basketball Coach introduced himself to the Councilors.

New Business

Danelle Callan, Presiding Officer recommended the following appointments to fill vacant precinct seats on the Council: Daniel Weems Precinct 15, Albert Tafoya Precinct 16 and Lisa Walden Precinct 30. These were approved by the Council.

The Year in Review

President Callan gave a brief summary of her year as Staff Council President.

Election of 2017-2018 Executive Committee

On behalf of the Rules & Elections Committee, Nancy Shane called for additional nominations for the office of President. Hearing none and declaring the position uncontested, Shane announced that the President is Danelle Callan.

Shane called for additional nominations for the office of President Elect. There were 45 ballots cast with 23 votes required for a majority. Burford received 34 and Cholka received 11. Shane declared that Rob Burford is President Elect.

Shane called for additional nominations for the office of Speaker. Hearing none and declaring the position uncontested, Shane announced that Mary Clark is Speaker.

Speaker Clark called for additional nominations for the office of Treasurer. Hearing none and declaring the position uncontested, Speaker Clark announced that Carla Sakiestewa is Treasurer.

Speaker Clark called for additional nominations for the two offices of Grade at Large Representative. There were 45 ballots cast with 23 votes required for a majority. Councilors were allowed to vote for up to two individuals. Autumn Collins received 29, Erica Grong received 15, Kristina Rucker received 5 and Gina Urias-Sandoval received 36. Speaker Clark declared that Autumn Collins and Gina Urias-Sandoval are the two Grade at Large Representatives.

Speaker Clark called for additional nominations for the two offices of Precinct at Large Representative. There were 44 ballots cast with 23 votes required for a majority. Councilors were allowed to vote for up to two individuals. Lukas Cash received 33, Brooke Cholka received 21 and Ryan Gregg received 26. There was one abstention. Speaker Clark declared that Lukas Cash and Ryan Gregg are the two Precinct at Large Representatives.

Installation Ceremony

Nancy Shane, Chair of the Rules & Elections Committee, read the Staff Council Code of Ethics and asked that all the newly elected Grade Representatives and members of the Executive Committee abide by the code. Shane pronounced the members installed.

Approval of Parliamentarian

Speaker Clark recommended the appointment of Adam Hathaway, PRP, as the Staff Council Parliamentarian for 2017-2018. This was approved by the Council.

Presentation of Awards

President Elect Burford presented Danelle Callan with the Past President Award and Mary Clark with the Speaker's Award.

Councilor Comments

Josh Clifford reminded Councilors about to pick up a copy of the Staff Councilor Handbook for 2017-2018. Joe Lane asked for volunteers for the Staff Appreciation Luncheon and announced the upcoming Brown Bag on 5/26/17.

Meeting adjourned at 2:43 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kathy Meadows, Administrative Officer of the Staff Council.

Staff Council meeting minutes can be accessed by going to

http://staffcouncil.unm.edu/staff%20council%20business%20meetings/index.html.