

University of New Mexico STAFF COUNCIL MEETING September 20, 2016 SUB, Lobo A&B

<u>Members Present</u>: Joaquin Baca, Chris Bandy, Rob Burford, John Byram, Danelle Callan, Lukas Cash, Pam Castaldi, Andrew Castellano, Brooke Cholka, Mary Clark, Josh Clifford, Aaron Cowan, Marjorie Crow, Jessica Esquibel, Cynthia Gonzales, Ryan Gregg, Erica Grong, Megan Hauser, Christine Heinemeyer, David Jones, Joe Lane, Annette Mares-Duran, Emmett Martinez, Melissa Meier, Rosemary Melendrez, Ray Mitchell, Mike Mulcahy, Melissa Pacheco-Armijo, Logan Radcliff, Stella Ramos, Joni Roberts, Kristina Rucker, Carla Sakiestewa, Susy Salvo, Jessica Serna, Nancy Shane, Albert Tafoya, Jasmine Torres, Gina Urias-Sandoval, Lisa Walden, and Daniel Weems.

<u>Members Excused</u>: Valerie Apodaca, Brad Beck, Colleen Cox, Crystal Davis, Cindy Garcia, Laura Hawkey, Mary Jane Lueras, Mira McMillan, Jodi Perry, Lori Peterkin, Felicia Rider, Kenneth Schaaf and Tish Young.

Members Absent: TC Chavez, Janet Luarkie and Mark Russell.

Parliamentarian: Adam Hathaway, Professional Registered Parliamentarian.

Call to Order: at 1:05 p.m. by Speaker Mary Clark.

Agenda, approved with changes.

Minutes of August 16, 2016, approved.

<u>Constituent Comments</u> No comments.

Executive Committee Elections

Speaker Clark called for nominations for the office of President Elect. Aaron Cowan was nominated by Councilor Sakiestewa and accepted the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, Speaker Clark declared that Cowan is the President Elect. Speaker Clark called for nomination for the office of Grade at Large. Rob Burford was nominated by Councilor Crow and accepted the nomination. Hearing no other nominations, Speaker Clark declared that Burford is the Grade at Large.

Ten Minute Tidbit

Adam Hathaway gave a presentation on motions.

President's Report, President Danelle Callan

President Callan gave a brief update on her activities for the month of August/September. For a complete report, please refer to the Staff Council website at <u>http://staffcouncil.unm.edu/</u>.

Executive Committee Report

No report.

Speaker's Report, Speaker Mary Clark

Speaker Clark encouraged the Councilors to attend the upcoming Staff Council events.

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Sakiestewa gave a brief update on each of the four Staff Council index codes: operating, staff appreciation, outstanding supervisor award and Gerald May award.

New Business

No new business.

Committee Reports

The following Staff Council Committee representatives provided information about activities, events and initiatives: Josh Clifford and Lisa Walden for the Communications and Marketing Committee, Joe Lane and Cindy Mason for the Events Committee, Melissa Pacheco-Armijo and Gina Urias-Sandoval for the Student Success Committee and Susy Salvo for the Staff Councilor Engagement Committee.

Councilor Comments

There was a general discussion about the FLSA changes.

Meeting adjourned at 2:08 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Brooke Cholka and transcribed by Kathy Meadows, Administrative Officer of the Staff Council.

<u>Staff Council meeting minutes can be accessed by going to</u> <u>http://staffcouncil.unm.edu/staff%20council%20business%20meetings/index.html.</u>