

University of New Mexico STAFF COUNCIL MEETING May 17, 2016 SUB, Acoma A&B

<u>Members Present</u>: Joaquin Baca, Brad Beck, John Byram, Danelle Callan, Andrew Castellano, Mary Clark, Josh Clifford, Aaron Cowan, Marjorie Crow, Crystal Davis, Renee Delgado-Riley, Dina Estrada, Cindy Garcia, Erica Grong, Andy Kalin, Joanne Kuestner, Joe Lane, Mary Jane Lueras, Jodi Perry, Stella Ramos, Mark Reynolds, Felicia Rider, Joni Roberts, Carla Sakiestewa, Susy Salvo, Nancy Shane, Jasmine Torres, Gina Urias-Sandoval, Lisa Walden, Daniel Weems and Tish Young.

<u>Members Excused</u>: Valerie Apodaca, Rob Burford, Pam Castaldi, Christine Heinemeyer, Ray Mitchell, Particia O'Connor-Navrot, and Kenneth Schaaf.

<u>Members Absent:</u> Marcos Abeyta, Amanda Bassett, TC Chavez, Jacob Field, Danielle Gilliam, Janet Luarkie, Melissa Pacheco-Armijo, James Patton, Samantha Payne, Mark Russell, Jennifer Trujillo and Katherine Turner.

<u>Parliamentarian:</u> Adam Hathaway, Professional Registered Parliamentarian.

<u>Call to Order:</u> at 1:05 p.m. by Crystal Davis, Presiding Officer.

Agenda, approved.

Minutes of April 19, 2016, approved.

### **Constituent Comments**

No comments.

# **Seating of Newly Elected Councilors**

On behalf of the Rules & Elections Committee, Nancy Shane moved approval to seat the new Councilors representing the Precincts. This was approved by the Council.

#### The Year in Review

President Davis gave a brief summary of her year as Staff Council President.

#### **Presentation of Awards**

Outgoing Past President, Renee Delgado-Riley, presented Crystal Davis with the Staff Council Past President Award and Mary Clark with the Speaker's Award.

# **Election of Executive Committee**

On behalf of the Rules & Elections Committee, Nancy Shane called for additional nominations for the office of President. There were 39 votes cast with 20 votes required for a majority. Callan received 22 and Davis received 17. Shane declared Callan the winner of the election for President.

Shane called for additional nominations for the office of President Elect and Speaker. Hearing none and declaring the positions uncontested, Shane announced that the President Elect is Renee Delgado-Riley and the Speaker is Mary Clark.

Speaker Clark called for additional nominations for the two offices of Grade at Large Representative. Hearing none and declaring the positions uncontested, Speaker Clark declared that the two Grade at Large Representative are Joaquin Baca and Daniel Weems.

Speaker Clark called for additional nominations for the two offices of Precinct at Large Representative. Councilors John Byram, Aaron Cowen and Joseph Lane were previously nominated. There were 39 votes cast with 20 votes required for a majority. Byram received 22, Cowan received 30 and Lane received 21 with one invalid vote recorded. Speaker Clark declared that the two Precinct at Large Representatives are John Byram and Aaron Cowan.

# **Installation Ceremony/Statement of Commitment**

Past President, Crystal Davis, read the Staff Council Code of Ethics and asked that all the newly seated Precinct Representatives and Executive Committee members abide by the Code. Davis pronounced the members installed. Each Councilor read and signed a Staff Council Statement of Commitment.

### Approval of Parliamentarian

Speaker Clark recommended the appointment of Adam Hathaway, PRP, as Staff Council Parliamentarian for 2016-2017. This was approved by the Council.

### **New Business**

Speaker Clark recommended that Cecilia (Brooke) Cholka be appointed to fill the vacant Precinct 9 seat. This was approved by the Council.

Councilor Jasmine Torres moved approval of the amendments to the Staff Council Code of Ethics. The motion was seconded and approved by the Council.

### **Councilor Comments**

Jodi Perry asked about the proper method to convey issues to the Executive Committee.

Josh Clifford and Nancy Shane asked for volunteers to work with the Rules & Elections Committee to revise some of the Council's governing documents.

Renee Delgado-Riley mentioned an idea about forming a Staff Council mentoring program.

Daniel Weems reminded the Councilors about the upcoming Staff Appreciation Luncheon on 5/26/16.

Danelle Callan said the HSCS Committee is seeking a new Chair or Co-Chairs.

## Meeting adjourned at 3:11 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kathy Meadows, Administrative Officer of the Staff Council.

### Staff Council meeting minutes can be accessed by going to

http://staffcouncil.unm.edu/staff%20council%20business%20meetings/index.html.