

University of New Mexico STAFF COUNCIL MEETING June 21, 2016 SUB, Lobo A&B

<u>Members Present</u>: Rob Burford, John Byram, Danelle Callan, Lukas Cash, Pam Castaldi, Andrew Castellano, Brooke Cholka, Mary Clark, Josh Clifford, Aaron Cowan, Marjorie Crow, Crystal Davis, Renee Delgado-Riley, Cindy Garcia, Ryan Gregg, Erica Grong, Megan Hauser, Laura Hawkey, Christine Heinemeyer, Joe Lane, Mary Jane Lueras, Melissa Meier, Rosemary Melendrez, Ray Mitchell, Melissa Pacheco-Armijo, Jodi Perry, Lori Peterkin, Logan Radcliff, Stella Ramos, Joni Roberts, Susy Salvo, Nancy Shane, Albert Tafoya, Lisa Walden, and Tish Young.

<u>Members Excused</u>: Chris Bandy, TC Chavez, Colleen Cox, Annette Mares-Duran, Wendi Ortiz, Felicia Rider, Carla Sakiestewa, Jasmine Torres and Daniel Weems.

<u>Members Absent:</u> Valerie Apodaca, Joaquin Baca, Brad Beck, Jessica Esquibel, Janet Luarkie, Mike Mulcahy, Samantha Payne, Mark Russell and Kenneth Schaaf.

Parliamentarian: Adam Hathaway, Professional Registered Parliamentarian.

Call to Order: at 1:07 p.m. by Speaker Mary Clark.

Agenda, approved with changes.

Minutes of May 11, 2016 and May 17, 2016, approved.

Constituent Comments

No comments.

Guest Speakers

JoEllen Ransom, University Ombudsperson and John Lee, Ombuds Facilitator, gave a presentation about the services available for staff through the Ombuds Office for Staff.

Ten Minute Tidbit

Adam Hathaway, PRP, gave a presentation on the use of Robert's Rules.

President's Report, President Danelle Callan

President Callan gave a brief update on her activities for the month of June. For a complete report, please refer to the Staff Council website at http://staffcouncil.unm.edu/blog/2016/06/monthly-report-to-the-staff-council.html.

Executive Committee Report, President Elect Renee Delgado-Riley

President Elect Delgado-Riley stated that, during the past couple of years, the Council has experienced some growing pains because of the establishment of some new internal processes and procedures. There have also been issues of miscommunication about the role of the Executive Committee and the Councilors and the Staff Council Committee Chairs. The Executive Committee recognizes these issues and will strive to enhance transparency during the upcoming year.

Speaker's Report, Speaker Mary Clark

Speaker Clark made the following announcements: Kathy McKinstry retired from UNM effective 5/31/16. Daniel Weems is Chair of the Rewards & Recognition Committee. Mark Reynolds resigned his G16-20 seat. He also resigned as Co-Chair of the Rules &

Elections Committee and the Event Committee. Nancy Shane is Chair of Rules & Elections and Renee Delgado-Riley and Joe Lane are Co-Chairs of Events. Megan Speck resigned as Chair of the HSCS Committee. Nancy Shane and Sandra Bauman are Co-Chairs of the HSCS.

Speaker Clark recommended that Rob Burford be appointed to fill the vacant G16-20 seat and Gina Urias-Sandoval be appointed to fill the vacant G14 seat. These appointments were approved by the Council.

Speaker Clark recommended approval of the Staff Council Committee Chairs and Committee Members for 2016-2017. This was approved by the Council.

Speaker Clark recommended that the following Councilors be appointed to the Ethics Committee for 2016-2017: Rob Burford, Rosemary Melendrez, Logan Radcliff, Lisa Walden and Tish Young. This was approved by the Council.

<u>Treasurer's Report, Treasurer Carla Sakiestewa</u>

No Report.

Committee Membership Drive

The following Staff Council Committee representatives provided information about activities, events and initiatives: Josh Clifford and Lisa Walden for Communications & Marketing, Marjorie Crow for Employee Life, Renee Delgado-Riley for Events, Nancy Shane for HSCS, Joe Lane for Rewards & Recognition, Susy Salvo for Staff Councilor Engagement and Melissa Pacheco-Armijo for Student Success.

New Business

No new business.

Councilor Comments

No comments.

Meeting adjourned at 2:39 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kathy Meadows, Administrative Officer of the Staff Council.

Staff Council meeting minutes can be accessed by going to

http://staffcouncil.unm.edu/staff%20council%20business%20meetings/index.html.