

University of New Mexico STAFF COUNCIL MEETING May 19, 2015 SUB, Lobo A&B

<u>Members Present</u>: Joaquin Baca, Danelle Callan, Pam Castaldi, TC Chavez, Mary Clark, Josh Clifford, Crystal Davis, Renee Delgado-Riley, Tyson Eakman, Dina Estrada, Cindy Garcia, Danielle Gilliam, Chris Grotbeck, Christopher Gutierrez, Gene Henley, Joanne Kuestner, Joseph Lane, Kathy McKinstry, Patricia O'Connor, Melissa Pacheco-Armijo, Jodi Perry, Stella Ramos, Joni Roberts, Carla Sakiestewa, Jennifer Trujillo, Kathy Turner, Lisa Walden and Daniel Weems.

<u>Members Excused</u>: Marcos Abeyta, Brad Beck, Marjorie Crow, Lisa Gilmore, Andy Kalin, Sarah Kieltyka, Ana Lombard, Cindy Mason, Mark Reynolds, Deanna Sanchez-Mulcahy, LaNika Staton, Gina Urias-Sandoval and Tish Young.

<u>Members Absent:</u> Amanda Bassett, Gloria Carol, Janisha Garcia, Mike Gatchell, Jarrett Hines-Kay, Charlotte Jaramillo, Amber Lucero, Shawn McGee, Marie McGhee, Michele Navarrette, James Patton, Ann Rickard, Candyce Torres and Chelsea Beth Walker.

<u>Parliamentarian:</u> Adam Hathaway, Professional Registered Parliamentarian.

Call to Order: at 1:09 p.m. by Renee Delgado-Riley, Presiding Officer.

## **Constituent Comments**

No comments.

### **Seating of Newly Elected Councilors**

On behalf of the Rules & Elections Committee, Karen Mann moved approval to seat the new Councilors representing the Grades. This was approved by the Council.

## Agenda, approved with changes.

### Minutes of April 21, 2015, approved.

# The Year in Review

President Delgado-Riley gave a brief summary of her year as Staff Council President.

# **Election of Executive Committee**

On behalf of the Rules & Elections Committee, Karen Mann called for additional nominations for the office of President, President Elect and Speaker. Hearing none and declaring the positions uncontested, Mann announced that the President is Crystal Davis, the President Elect is Danelle Callan and the Speaker is Mary Clark. Speaker Clark called for additional nominations for Treasurer. Hearing none and declaring the position uncontested, Speaker Clark announced that the Treasurer is Jodi Perry. Speaker Clark called for nominations for the two offices of Grade at Large Representative. Councilors Joaquin Baca and Jasmine Torres were nominated and accepted the nomination. Hearing no other nominations and declaring the positions uncontested, Speaker Clark announced that the Grade at Large Representatives are Joaquin Baca and Jasmine Torres. Speaker Clark called for nominations for the two offices of Precinct at Large Representative. Councilors Joseph Lane, Ana Parra Lombard, Carla Sakiestewa and Katherine Turner were nominated and accepted the nomination. Councilor Melissa Pacheco-Armijo was nominated but declined the nomination. There were 40 votes cast with 21 votes required for a majority. Sakiestewa and Turner each received 23 votes, Lane received 19 votes and Lombard received 11 votes. Speaker Clark declared Sakiestewa and Turner winners of the election for Precinct at Large Representative.

#### **Installation Ceremony/Statement of Commitment**

Past President, Renee Delgado-Riley, read the Staff Council Code of Ethics and asked that all newly seated Precinct Representatives and Executive Committee members abide by the Code. Delgado-Riley pronounced the members installed. Each Councilor read and signed a Staff Council Statement of Commitment.

## **Presentation of Awards**

President Crystal Davis presented Mary Clark with a plaque in recognition of her service as Staff Council Speaker for 2014-2015. President Davis presented Renee Delgado-Riley with the Staff Council Past President award.

# Approval of Parliamentarian

Speaker Clark recommended the appointment of Adam Hathaway, PRP, as Staff Council Parliamentarian for 2015-2016. This was approved by the Council.

### **New Business**

Speaker Clark recommended that Megan Speck be appointed as Co-Chair of the HSCS Committee. This was approved by the Council.

Kathy McKinstry, Co-Chair of the Rewards & Recognition Committee, gave notice of a proposed revision to the Staff Council Bylaws, which adds a sentence to Article VIII Ethics, Section 2. Speaker Clark referred the proposed revision to the Rules & Elections Committee.

## **Councilor Discussion and Comments**

Lisa Walden commented about 2015 Homecoming. The theme will be "Live Lobo and Prosper." A Staff Council Ad Hoc Homecoming will be formed to work on planning a Staff Council sponsored Homecoming event.

Kathy McKinstry commented about Relay for Life, the Jim Davis Award and the Staff Appreciation Luncheon.

Joaquin Baca and Joanne Kuestner commented about dependent verifications for health insurance.

## Meeting adjourned at 1:59 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kathy Meadows, Administrative Officer, Staff Council Office.

Staff Council meeting minutes can be accessed by going to http://staffcouncil.unm.edu.