

University of New Mexico STAFF COUNCIL MEETING November 18, 2014 SUB, Lobo A&B

Members Present: Joaquin Baca, Brad Beck, Pam Castaldi, TC Chavez, Mary Clark, Josh Clifford, Marjorie Crow, Crystal Davis, Renee Delgado-Riley, Tyson Eakman, Danielle Gilliam, Lisa Gilmore, Gene Henley, Jarrett Hines-Kay, Joanne Kuestner, Joseph Lane, Ana Parra Lombard, Cindy Mason, Marie McGhee, Kathy McKinstry, Michele Navarrette, Patricia O'Connor, Jodi Perry, Stella Ramos, Mark Reynolds, Elmo Riggs, Joni Roberts, Carla Sakiestewa, Deanna Sanchez-Mulcahy, LaNika Staton, Candyce Torres, Jennifer Trujillo, Gina Urias-Sandoval, Lisa Walden, Chelsea Beth Walker, Daniel Weems and Tish Young.

<u>Members Excused</u>: Marcos Abeyta, Amanda Bassett, Dina Estrada, Janisha Garcia, Sarah Kieltyka and Melissa Pacheco-Armijo.

<u>Members Absent:</u> Danelle Callan, Gloria Carol, Chris Gallegos, Mike Gatchell, Christopher Gutierrez, Charlotte Jaramillo, Amber Lucero, Shawn McGee, James Patton and Ann Rickard.

**Parliamentarian:** Adam Hathaway, Professional Registered Parliamentarian.

<u>Call to Order:</u> at 1:05 p.m. by Speaker, Mary Clark.

Approve Agenda: approved.

Approve Minutes from 9/16/14: approved.

#### **Constituent Comments**

No comments.

#### **Special Orders**

Speaker Clark called for nominations for the vacant office of Precinct at Large Representative on the Executive Committee. Councilor Joe Lane was nominated and after hearing no other nominations and declaring the position uncontested, Speaker Clark stated that Councilor Lane is the Precinct at Large Representative.

# President's Report, President Renee Delgado-Riley

President Delgado-Riley thanked Councilor Elmo Riggs for his service on the Council and congratulated him on his retirement from UNM.

President Delgado-Riley presented Staff Hero Awards to Vice President Cheo Torres and Debbie Howard.

President Delgado-Riley stated that a draft copy of the Council's Strategic Planning document was sent to Councilors for their review and asked for feedback by Tuesday, 12/16/14.

The Staff Engagement Survey had some initial glitches, which have been resolved. The Council will continue to encourage staff to complete the survey, which closes on Friday, 12/5/14.

President Delgado-Riley recognized Kathy McKinstry and Celeste Cole, Co-Chairs of the Rewards & Recognition Committee, for their work on the Gerald W. May Outstanding Staff Award.

# **Executive Committee Report, President Elect Jarrett Hines-Kay**

The Executive Committee is in the process of planning activities for the Staff Council's 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary celebration in 2015. Work on the Staff Council website is continuing.

After polling the Councilors about changing the Staff Council meeting time, the results indicated that the majority preferred the meeting time remain from 1:00 - 3:00 p.m.

## **Speaker's Report, Speaker Mary Clark**

Speaker Clark appointed Katherine Turner to the vacant P29 seat. This was approved by the Council.

# <u>Treasurer's Report, Speaker Mary Clark on behalf of Treasurer Cindy Mason</u>

The report was postponed.

#### **New Business**

No new business.

### **Guest Speaker**

Scott George, UNM Recycling Supervisor spoke about recycling on the UNM campus.

### **Committee Reports**

Communications & Marketing, Pam Castaldi – Castaldi gave the Councilors a preview of the new website.

Employee Life, Terry Horger – The Committee is working on arranging a Town Hall addressing bullying on campus and the resources available for staff. The Committee is continuing to explore a maternity leave policy, reviewing the overtime paid policy and meal plans for staff at Las Posada.

Events, Mark Reynolds – This report was postponed.

HSCS, Jodi Perry – Administrative tasks for the Committee are under review. The Committee sponsored a Safety Walk on the north campus.

Rewards & Recognition, Celeste Cole and Kathy McKinstry – Councilors were invited to attend the Gerald W. May Outstanding Staff Award reception on Thursday, 12/11/14.

## **Councilor Comments**

There were no comments.

## Meeting adjourned at 2:25 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kathy Meadows, Administrative Officer, Staff Council Office.

Staff Council meeting minutes can be accessed by going to http://staffcouncil.unm.edu.