

University of New Mexico STAFF COUNCIL MEETING July 16, 2013 SUB, Lobo A&B

Members Present: Marcos Abeyta, Carol Bernhard, Anne Burtnett, Gloria Carol, Kenneth Carpenter, Pam Castaldi, Mary Clark, Marjorie Crow, Crystal Davis, Renee Delgado-Riley, Tyson Eakman, LaNika Espinoza-DeVault, Chris Gallegos, Mike Gatchell, Lisa Gilmore, Veronica Griego, Gene Henley, Jarrett Hines-Kay, Nathan Holscher, Joanne Kuestner, Juan Larranaga, Suzanne McConaghy, Shawn McGee, Marie McGhee, Kathy McKinstry, Stephen Murillo, Michele Navarette, Amie Ortiz, Melissa Pacheco-Armijo, Stella Ramos, Mark Reynolds, Ann Rickard, Frances Rico, Deanna Sanchez-Mulcahy, Justin Walters, Daniel Weems and Tracy Wenzl.

<u>Members Excused</u>: Sophia Alvarez, Emily Arzate, Bradford Beck, Natalie Bruner, Traci Jastrzemski, Karen Mann, Joni Roberts, Carla Sakiestewa, Marie St Claire, Kathy Turner, Gina Urias-Sandoval, Chelsea Beth Walker James Wernicke and Tish Young.

<u>Members Absent:</u> Joaquin Baca, Danelle Callan, Michael Chavez-Kerr, Janisha Garcia, Danielle Gilliam, Christopher Gutierrez, Dominic Pruitt, and Bridgette Wagner-Jones.

Parliamentarian: Adam Hathaway, Professional Registered Parliamentarian.

Call to Order: at 1:42 p.m. by Speaker, Tracy Wenzl.

Agenda, approved.

Minutes of June 18, 2013 approved.

Constituent Comments

No comments.

President's Report, President Gene Henley

President Henley has been meeting with staff and Staff Councilors during his office hours and coffees. He met with President Frank on 7/3/13. President Henley congratulated the Jim Davis Staff Council Award nominees and Linda McCormick, the recipient of the Award for 2013. President Henley presented a Staff Hero Award to Celeste Cole and Kathy McKinstry, Co-Chairs of the Rewards & Recognition Committee. President Henley thanked the members of the Staff Appreciation Month (SAM) Ad Hoc Committee and all the Councilors and committee members who volunteer during SAM.

Executive Committee Report, President Elect Renee Delgado-Riley

President Elect Delgado-Riley reminded the Councilors about the remaining SAM events and asked them to promote the events to their constituents. President Elect Delgado-Riley stated that she will serve as Chair of the newly formed Staff Council Engagement Ad Hoc Committee and asked Councilors to contact her if they are interested in serving on the committee.

Speaker's Report, Speaker Tracy Wenzl

Speaker Wenzl congratulated all of the award recipients.

New Business

No new business.

Councilor Comments

No comments.

Meeting adjourned at 1:50 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kathy Meadows, Administrative Officer, Staff Council Office.

The meeting, in its entirety, can be viewed by going to http://staffcouncil.unm.edu.